Afrotropolis

My name is Chinedu and I am a SUPAFRIK. I am also a designer and my 8 year old label is called Chinedesign. A few weeks ago on a quiet sunday morning, I launched a collection for summer called Afrotropolis . I hadn’t shown a collection in two years (I took a break to go to school and learn more about the business) so I felt a bit of pressure going into the showing. Between the challenges of the live mannequin concept and the snowstorm in the middle of spring, so much could have gone wrong and yet for the most part everything went right. I am happy that the collection and my choice of presentation was well received. I got a mention in the National Post and Afrotropolis is making its way through the blogsphere like here and here. There’s more to come but I’m keeping it mum for now. In a future post, I will break down the African inspiration behind the collection. In the meantime you can check out the lookbook photographs by the amazing Naz Tana as well as the video above that I sliced together from amateur footage of the event (excuse the occasional shakiness and the guillotine effect).

– [cu]

Available at the upcoming SUPAFRIK pop-up.

Ndebele Wall Art Silk Dress (A) by Chinedesign

Ndebele Wall Art Silk Dress (A)

Ndebele Wall Art Silk Dress (B) by Chinedesign

Ndebele Wall Art Silk Dress (B)

Pretty Lady Independence Silk Blouse + Cowhide Print Denim Shorts by Chinedesign

Pretty Lady Independence Silk Blouse + Cowhide Print Denim Shorts

Pretty Lady Independence Button Up Shirt + Holey Jacket + Charcoal Raw Denim Jeans by Chinedesign

Pretty Lady Independence Button Up Shirt + Holey Jacket + Charcoal Raw Denim Jeans

Benin Mask Royalty Silk Tank Top + Cowhide Print Denim Shorts by Chinedesign

Benin Mask Royalty Silk Tank Top + Cowhide Print Denim Shorts

Black Cowboy Button-up Shirt + Cowhide Print Denim Cropped Pants

Black Cowboy Button-up Shirt + Cowhide Print Denim Cropped Pants by Chinedesign

Black Star Nautical Dress + Afropunk Denim Jacket by Chinedesign

Black Star Nautical Dress + Afropunk Denim Jacket

Royal Checkers Button Up Shirt + Holey Waistcoat + Charcoal Raw Denim Jeans by Chinedesign

Royal Checkers Button Up Shirt + Holey Waistcoat + Charcoal Raw Denim Jeans


Chinedesign's Afrotropolis

Afrotropolis

2 responses to “Afrotropolis

  1. Pingback: On Now: SELAM Visual Arts Festival at Gladstone Hotel | Supafrik

  2. Hello
    I am looking for african art, specifically, artwork in a Giraffe, lions, Eric. Do you happen to have these or perhaps know where I might obtain these pieces of art? Thank you.

Leave a comment